The CILEX Professional Qualification (CPQ) is a new qualification for a new type of lawyer.

Each stage of the (CPQ) comprises three elements: core legal knowledge, practice and skills; ethics and professional responsibility; and professional experience. Together these elements provide a framework for developing the skills, knowledge, behaviours and experience necessary to practise effectively as a legal professional.

Trainees will be able to begin their CPQ journey at a point corresponding to their previous legal experience and qualifications – including taking into account any CILEX qualifications they may already hold. CPQ also allows trainees to pause and restart their training to flex around other commitments.

CPQ enables trainees to focus on their area of career aspiration or their employers’ practice. Completion of all stages of CPQ will lead to practice rights in a specialist area of law. Underpinned by the CILEX competency framework, CPQ builds professional experience requirements into each stage, allowing trainees to demonstrate their competence at every stage in their career and preparing them to collect the evidence they will need to acquire their practice rights.

Courses available

The CPQ qualification is made up of three stages:

The CPQ Foundation Stage will allow you to become a CILEX Paralegal.

The CPQ Advance Stage will allow you to become a CILEX Advance Paralegal.

The CPQ Professional Stage will allow you to become a CILEX Lawyer.

How to apply

In order to enrol onto the CPQ, you first need to become a CILEX Member and then purchase the CPQ stage you’re aiming to start on. To find out more, visit the CILEX website here.

To apply at Leeds City College please click here.

Leeds City College